book review · books · fantasy · fiction · literature

Book Review: A Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Image result for the star touched queen come with me
As soon as I read this sentence, I immediately wrote it down in my notes. It moved me so much.

This book featured on my blog in my All Time Low book tag under a cover I considered exotic. I hadn’t started it at that stage, but I had high hopes because I mean, look at that cover! I know, never judge a book by it’s cover but damn did it live up to that gorgeous cover it possesses. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi is about the princess Maya of Bharata. The stars have cursed her with a horoscope that brings death and destruction upon everyone she crosses paths with. Amar – the Raja of Akaran – comes to sweep her off her feet with promises to give her everything she’s ever dreamed of and more. She discovers that the stories that she told her little sister are true and the world is is even bigger than she dreamed of in the confines of the walls of Bharata.

As soon as I picked this book up, I was hooked. Chokshi managed to seem like she got to the point quickly so as not to drone on too much, while also painting an extremely vivid picture through her incredible talent for descriptive writing. It is a very hard thing to do simultaneously, but she manages to execute it absolutely perfectly.

In addition to this, her ability to pull genuine emotions out of her reader is insane. She keeps you on your toes and keeps you in the dark right up until an event actually happens. You never know the direction she’s going to take with the characters, nor do you really know how they’ll react to certain situations, even if you do know how their mind works. You’re left feeling the exact same emotions as Maya is feeling at the time – you’re elated and insanely happy when she is, you’re just as confused as she is, and you’re heartbroken alongside her. I have never ever come across an author that can keep you on your toes as much as she can, nor draw out such strong emotions out of readers. You feel like you’re right there with Maya putting on colourful sari’s with her.

I loved this book so much, I’m going as far as to say that it is at least up there alongside my top favourite of Harry Potter, and possibly even just ahead of it. For a gigantic potterhead like me, this is a HUGE call. It’s unheard of, but for a book as absolutely phenomenal as this one, it’s a very valid one. In total honesty, in finding photos for this post, I discovered that there was a second book called A Crown of Wishes that follows the minor character of Maya’s little sister, Gauri. I immediately stopped writing this post and went and purchased it from Book Depository.  Even if you’re not much of a reader, I guarantee that you will love this book. And for my fellow book lovers out there, I’m wrapping this review up now because you need to go and buy this book right now.

Peace, love and rainbow dreams,

Tiff.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

  1. I feel a library day coming to give this a read. Sounds SO GOOD!!! Dude, you should definitely give Geekerella a read and do a review on that. I guarantee you’ll love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

