beauty · Beauty blogger · beauty review · skin care · toner review

The Body Shop Toner Review

IMG_6922

My skin is relatively normal to slight combination – I get a dry chin and if I don’t look after my skin, I can get an oilier than usual T zone. I’d been looking into toners for a little while before I purchased this, and when I saw this as 20% off I finally gave it a go. I was looking at purchasing the hydrating Vitamin E toner that claimed it was for all skin types, but I ended up with this one at the recommendation of the shop assistant upon telling her that I had no makeup on and that the skin she saw was my normal skin. She said I didn’t need a hydrating one and that this one would be perfect for me. Yes, it does state it’s an oil-balancing one but I decided to give her the benefit of the doubt as she undoubtedly has much more knowledge on this topic than I do. On their website, the key ingredient of wild-harvested seaweed says that it’s suitable for normal to oily skin as well, which I’ve found to ring true.

When I begun my skincare journey, one of the first things I discovered was that there was an order to put your products on so as to ensure optimal results. For toner, it is applied after cleansing, using a mask or exfoliating and before moisturiser is applied as it prepares the skin for toner and helps to prepare it for moisturiser. Even though toner is fine to be used daily, I personally only use it after I’ve cleansed my makeup off to help remove the last bits, done a face mask or exfoliated. This is usually about 5-6 days out of 7, either day or night – it doesn’t really matter to me. All you have to do is pour out a couple of drops onto a cotton pad and rub it all over your skin. I have heard of it burning for some people, so if it does for you avoid the eyes. I however, rub it over my closed eyes to get rid of any lingering eye makeup. (Not sure if that’s the best skincare tip though, so you should probably ignore that one…)

I absolutely LOVE this product. Yes, it’s the first toner I’ve tried and there may be better ones out there on the market, but I’m thoroughly impressed with this one. The big pores on my nose are practically non-existent now after about a month of use, and I never realised how much makeup I still left on after cleansing my makeup away. Whether I do my toner of a nighttime and use night cream or of a daytime and use my daytime moisturiser, I find that they both apply a lot more smoothly as compared to not using toner. Without toner, my moisturiser can tend to sink into my skin very quickly and still feel very dry after application, but with toner it sinks into the skin, and then looks very hydrated afterwards.

Using toner has dramatically improved my skin and I’m thoroughly pleased with it. However, I do not think that you will be able to reap the benefits of it if you do not have a range of skincare products already in your routine that you’re committed to using on a very regular basis. If you do, toner will transform your skin almost as much as starting your regular skincare routine did. If you’re looking to add a toner to your routine, this one is a good place to start. If you haven’t got a skincare routine in place, I recommend doing regular masks and regularly cleansing before you add a toner to your routine.

Rating: 10/10

Peace, love and rainbow dreams,

Tiff.

 

One thought on “The Body Shop Toner Review

Leave a Reply

